Independent NIOS guidance • Official actions always open on NIOS portals

NIOS guidance

NIOS Admission Last Date Extended to 30 September 2026 (April 2027 Exam)

Source-backed learner guidance from NIOSPATH.

Admission update

NIOS Admission Last Date Extended to 30 September 2026 (April 2027 Exam)

NIOS Stream 1 Block I admission for the April 2027 examination was open until 30 September 2026. That window has now closed — see the update below.

HOW WE VERIFIED THIS · UPDATED 1 OCTOBER 2026 · WINDOW NOW CLOSED

Official: NIOS Notification 30/2026 dated 15 September 2026 ↗ extended Stream 1 (Block-I) admission, session 2026-27, up to 30.09.2026 (Wednesday). That date has passed. Checked on 1 October 2026: no further extension has been notified, and the SDMIS portal now lists the Stream 1 session as “OCT. 2027” — Block II. This page is kept as a record of the notice; the ₹910 late-fee figure mentioned below was given to NIOSPATH by a NIOS Regional Centre on 16 September 2026 and applied only inside the closed window.

Key facts

  • Route: Stream 1 (fresh Class 10 / Class 12, TOC, via Block I)
  • New last date: 30 September 2026
  • Exam session: April 2027
  • Original schedule: 16 March–31 July normal fee; late fees ₹260 (1–15 Aug), ₹520 (16–31 Aug), ₹910 (1–15 Sep)
  • Fee for 16–30 September: ₹910 late fee, the same as 1–15 September (per a NIOS Regional Centre; not stated in the notice), plus the ₹70 online application cost. Example: Class 10, male general, 5 subjects = ₹2,340 + ₹910 + ₹70 = ₹3,320. The SDMIS payment screen is final.

Who should apply now

Learners who want to appear in the April 2027 examination and have not yet registered. If you miss 30 September, the next option is Block II, which leads to a later first examination.

Apply in the next 14 days: checklist

  1. Check eligibility and DOB cutoff: age limit guide.
  2. Match names and dates across documents: document checklist.
  3. Estimate the official fee: fee estimator.
  4. Register and pay only on sdmis.nios.ac.in. Enter OTPs yourself.
  5. After paying, track your admission status.

Don’t leave it to the last day — portals slow down near deadlines, and document problems take time to fix.

Common questions

Has NIOS extended the admission last date?

Yes. NIOS Notification 30/2026 dated 15 September 2026 extends the last date for online admission to Stream 1 Block I, session 2026-27 (April 2027 exam), up to 30 September 2026.

Is there a late fee during the extension?

Yes. Notification 30/2026 does not state a fee. A NIOS Regional Centre told NIOSPATH the late fee for 16–30 September is ₹910, the same as 1–15 September, on top of the normal admission fee and the ₹70 online application cost. Pay only the amount your SDMIS payment screen shows.

Which exam will I appear in if I apply now?

This extension is for the April 2027 session, as shown on the SDMIS portal.

Is there an official notice?

Yes. NIOS Notification 30/2026 dated 15 September 2026, published on the NIOS notice board at nios.ac.in.

Need help applying in Block II?

NIOSPATH Admission Guidance (₹6,970) covers route choice, document review, subject selection and pre-submission review. Official NIOS fees are separate. Call or WhatsApp +91 91303 20252. No admission or result is guaranteed.

Closed on 30 September 2026 — what now

Block I admission for session 2026-27 ended on 30 September 2026 and no further extension was notified. Checked on 1 October 2026, the official SDMIS portal now shows Stream 1 (OCT. 2027), which is Block II. Under the official NIOS Academic Prospectus 2026-27 the Block II window runs 16 September 2026 to 31 January 2027 at normal fee, and the first public examination for Block II learners is September–October 2027. Read what Block II changes for your first exam, then fill the form.

Full timeline

See Block I and Block II dates together.

Admission timeline →